John Cooper
Ohio State, Arizona State, Tulsa
192-84-6 (24 seasons)

With 111 victories in 13 seasons, ranks as the second-winningest coach in Ohio State history, trailing only the legendary Woody Hayes, who totaled 205 victories
During his tenure at OSU, Buckeyes have won the Heisman Trophy (Eddie George in 1995), the Vincent dePaul Draddy Award (Bobby Hoying in 1995), the Maxwell Award (Eddie George in 1995), two Lombardi Awards (Orlando Pace consecutively in 1995 and '96, the first to ever accomplish the feat), the Outland Trophy (Orlando Pace in 1996), the Biletnikoff Award (Terry Glenn in 1995), the Butkus Award (Andy Katzenmoyer in 1997) and the Thorpe Award (Antoine Winfield in 1998)
In terms of championships, has coached nine teams to conference championships (and another five to second-place finishes), including the 1998, 1996 and 1993 Ohio State teams that shared Big Ten titles
By virtue of Ohio State's win over Arizona State in the 1997 Rose Bowl, he became the first head coach to lead teams from both the Big Ten and the Pac-10 conferences to victories in the Rose Bowl (he coached ASU to a 22-15 win over Michigan at the end of the 1986 season)
Named National Coach of the Year in 1986 after leading ASU to a 10-1-1 record

  << back to master coaches

Designed and Developed
by MaxMedia Design.